An Engineer, Love, and Quotes

February 5, 2008

( imported, originally posted on Jan 5th, 08 )

“Infatuation is when you think he’s as sexy as Robert Redford, as smart as Henry Kissinger, as noble as Ralph Nader, as funny as Woody Allen, and as athletic as Jimmy Conners. Love is when you realize that he’s as sexy as Woody Allen, as smart as Jimmy Connors, as funny as Ralph Nader, as athletic as Henry Kissinger and nothing like Robert Redford – but you’ll take him anyway.” ~Judith Viorst, Redbook, 1975

An engineer is a person who undergoes trainings to prepare him/her so that when he/she is faced to a technical problem, he/she can analyze the problem and find the solution(s) for the problem. A couple of hours ago, in a class, my lecturer said that someone deserves an “Engineer” title if only he/she has got something that called “Sense of Engineering”. That means he/she can predict the solution(s) within few moments and can also determine whether a given solution is reasonable or it is just nonsense.

“Love is only a dirty trick played on us to achieve continuation of the species.” ~W. Somerset Maugham, A Writer’s Notebook, 1949

Now, let’s talk about love. To an engineer, love should be the variable that he/she will try to avoid most. Love is unpredictable and impossible to measure. Love is also unstable, it can drastically changes from a “extremely happy” state to “extremely upset” state or vice-versa in just a short period of times. There is no iteration method that can exactly determine what state of love one will experience tomorrow, or even in the next hour. Sometimes -or maybe most of the times- a solution that won’t make any sense can be the best solution of a love problem compared to a reasonable one.

“Forget love – I’d rather fall in chocolate!” ~Sandra J. Dykes

So the conclusion is that Engineers should avoid love, isn’t it? Well, theoretically they should. But in the reality, most of them won’t and the rest can only try. The reason is that love is simply unavoidable. Love is a mystery. And most of us are struggling everyday to solve all of the mysteries that have been given to us by god. It’s in our nature as a human. So when dealing with love, forget this “Sense of Engineering” and let’s just be humans.

“Love means nothing in tennis, but it’s everything in life.” ~Author Unknown

Hero of The Day: Mr. Pekik Argo Dahono
Thanks for the “enlightenment”, and for the task too!

Moral of The Day: Keep funky and be yourself no matter what they say!
Criticize please! But don’t try to change me!

Lyric of The Day:
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
It’s driven me before
And it seems to be the way that everyone else gets around
But lately I’m beginning to find that
When I drive myself my light is found
So whatever tomorrow brings, I’ll be there
With open arms and open eyes
~ Drive – Incubus
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
No special reason, just trying to feel the positivity .

8 Responses to “An Engineer, Love, and Quotes”

  1. uBz said

    in short, so, engineers are NOT humans?

    as for neglecting engineering senses we’re then becoming human.

    blah.

  2. Yusuf Aria said

    well, sort of.
    to me, being an engineer means high demands of thinking, not feeling. days by days i feel more like a robot. and then when that “love” thing came, everything seemed like they wouldn’t match with every logical algorithm implanted in my brain.
    so my point is when engineers won’t understand love if they treats love with their sense of engineering.

    ps: ini mah postingan curhat jaman dulu brit, ahakhak …

  3. uBz said

    hehe. well klo anda adalah risk engineer, mungkin beda liatnya… weekkeke. postingan curhat jaman dulu juga…

    http://scttrd-brain.blogspot.com/nice try

    tapi betul cup..you’ve got a point though, there.

  4. Yusuf Aria said

    hmmm …
    so does it mean by learning risk engineering I can understand love? Aargh, you should have told me years earlier. If you had, I would’ve taken that subject too, lol.

  5. ubz said

    hahaha
    gak juga sih…and the subject is available though hasn’t yet succeed to be held in TI… 😦 due to lack of interest…

    It’s just funny that I’d found such association. Risk. to Love. something you think is least tangible–as love is, actually could be measured, according to the author–just like tangible object. as per tangible object’s characteristics, love is also perceptible by senses. that’s how it’s become tangible..ah sutralah –professor2 itu. eyke tetep pusing kok.

  6. Ellie said

    I am an engineer and I love another engineer and I can say that I increasingly became more human as I chose to separate myself from that equation. I started to notice how people (but not other engineers) tend to avoid me in any social context so I decided to not be an engineer 24/7 anymore. I went to study design and I learned a complimentary way to look at the world around me: now, as much as I keep my sense of engineering I also accept imperfections, instead of seeing them as flaws, errors, variables that should be removed. That made me a better lover in many different ways. And now when I look at my new boyfriend, who happens to be the third engineer I date, I get amused at how much he attempts to probe and measure every single situation and everything I say to him, all reactions and I play with that… I intentionally make his equation fail and when he looks at with those childish, almsot innocent eyes I tell him hes too predictable. Engineers have this straight line of thoughts: they expect everything to go bad so that they can fix it when it does, and although they simply love perfection they jsut get too disappointed when everything goes exactly right and according to plan, because then everything is jsut boring. An engineer in love will see their loved ones as the most perfect person, and then start looking for flaws in them. Errors. Distractions. The most imature ones will desperatly try to fix you, while others will see the imperfections as your best gift.

Leave a Reply

